LUNCH IDEAS from a Full-Time Working Pregnant Mom

Earlier this summer, I began working as a full-time audiology resident. Plus, I have a 2 year old and I was 8 months pregnant! All of which means that planning and organizing my week, my life, and my food is crucial for my success, productivity and energy levels.

I’m constantly looking for great lunch ideas that are easy to prepare,pack, store and aren’t too messy to eat- or likely to leave anything in your teeth either! Here are some great lunch ideas and more tips that have come in handy for me.

At the start of the week, I’ll prepare some staples that I can build on throughout the week. 2016-06-18 22.12.57.jpg1. Boil a dozen eggs– peel and snack bag one or two eggs each- placed in my refrigerator door making them easy to reach.  I’ll have these on hand throughout the week when packing my own and my toddler’s lunch too.

2. Boil up a box of pasta– I prefer whole wheat rotini. Then after it’s ready, I immediately portion it out into containers for lunches and even make one tray ready for an easy supper.

3. Instant Couscous! Also whole wheat. I love preparing a box of couscous and dumping a can of chick peas in it too. Then I have this as an easy side dish. One day, I’ll add tuna to it, and another day I made these delicious sauted mushrooms that I had half of in a breakfast omelette and the rest for lunch.2016-06-08 07.21.13

4. Shop for easy-to-eat fruits and veggies, such as cherry tomatoes, blueberries, strawberries. I find these are more conducive for short “eat-between-patients” lunch than too-crunchy apples or juicy/mess-nectarines.2016-06-17 07.49.10.jpg

Luckily, I have access to a refrigerator at work so I can prepare a salad dressing and leave it at work to have it to add to my different lunches.

5. Sandwiches are, of course, a classic lunch idea- I love hummus, cream cheese, nut butter, or avocado.

It always helps me when I hear or read about how others are organizing their lunches, and I hope this helped you!

Have a great week!

-Lilach

What do you love to pack for lunch?

What other easy-to-eat fruit do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

